Handwritten

Small Town, Big Life

Making the Money July 31, 2007

After seven months of drudging through a “normal” part-time job and living in my parents’ spare bedroom, I have yet to get a call back from any of my resumes. Maybe my heart isn’t really behind it, that is getting a regular job in the world of PR.

So finally, just a week ago, I decided I was going to keep my “normal” part-time job – because it involves lots of editing and writing, which I love – and fill the rest of my time with freelance writing jobs.

In just a week, I’ve added two new online freelancing jobs to my repertoire. I can’t disclose those at the moment because I haven’t gotten all the paperwork done, but they are on the horizon. I’m also in the process of having my blog make me some money. We’ll see how that goes. I hope that within the next six months I will be making money freelancing that is at least equal to what my normal part-time job pays.

I have to give props to Deborah Ng as she has been my inspiration even though she doesn’t know it, and Darren Rowse over at Problogger.net.

 

One Response to “Making the Money”

  1. Lindsey Says:

    Sometimes we have to do the ‘normal’ until we get to do the dream.

    I hope life is treating you well, Christen. I enjoy your blog…thanks for writing!


Leave a Reply

