Handwritten

Small Town, Big Life

Tis the Season December 14, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — handwritten @ 9:33 pm

7 days. 168 hours. 10,080 minutes. 604,800 seconds. This is how much time will have passed from now until I am back in my hometown – back home.

There’s a lot to do between now and then – packing, paperwork, goodbyes. It’s sad yet happy, a very strange mix of emotions. Tensions are high but so are expectations.

Tomorrow I have the day off. No work in the traditional sense but lots of work to do. I’ve already begun the arduous task of packing all my belongings. Where I get all this stuff I do not know. I probably only use 1/3 (if that much) of it but somehow can’t live without it. And in just 10 more days – on Christmas Eve – I will most likely add to my collection if my grandparents and parents have anything to do with it. We have a big family which means big holidays. Sure, I’d be happy with just gathering and retelling old stories for the millionth time, but I know that will never happen. And sure, I do enjoy the excitement on the givers’ faces as they present there gifts to everyone.

I am one of these givers. It is as much of a treat for me to give as to get, probably more so. And it is so much fun for me to see others happy with there gifts. I for one am touched that someone thinks enough of me ever year to give me something.

It’s not the present that’s the gift, it really is the thought behind it.

 

Leave a Reply

