Handwritten

Small Town, Big Life

Long time gone. November 30, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — handwritten @ 10:09 pm

It’s amazing how life gets in your way. I haven’t written in so long that people have started asking me where I went! Well, I’m still here. I just happen to have had a lot going on in the past 15 days since my last post. I know I promised I would write at least every other day but like I said – a lot has happened.

1. I decided to move back home. I look at it as a new beginning to the life I want to have. It’s amazing how much you realize who you are when you step away from the ones closest to you and find your own way. I’ve found my way; it leads back home. I truly believe God puts you in situations that teach you everyday. If I had never have left and moved so far away I really don’t believe that I would appreciate my family as much as I do now. I had never lived away from home before really so I was not prepared for my reaction to it. I prided myself on being the way I was but now realize that it was really just me being fake; someone I truly am not. I am a momma’s girl and a daddy’s girl, a big sister to a fault. I am a country girl who likes to get dirty with her big ‘ol dog and ride the four wheelers on the weekends. I like my little country church where all my family goes. I like the Sunday afternoon dinners and the naps afterwards. I like being near the ones I love and there is nothing wrong with that.

2. I got a new job. I’m still a Marketing Assistant but now it’s at a paper where I can write and work in the field that I wanted to to begin with. I will be doing what I know I’m supposed to do. Not that my current position is bad by any means; it’s just not what I know I should be doing. So, I have been blessed with another job that I know will keep me going for a while and that is always a good thing.

3. Turkey Day came and went. I really ate too much this year. It was so good though and having not had real home-cooked food in some time I just couldn’t resist the turkey, ham, dressing, sweet potatoes, slaw, mashed potatoes, rolls and the other 40 item spread. I ate. I slept. I ate some more. It was a great vacation.

4. I learned that my dog’s instincts are still there. I have a 110 lb Great Pyrenees. He’s never been anything but a big teddy bear and only comes out of the backyard for his leashed walk around the neighborhood. He’s never been out in the open except for the one time he got loose of me and took off towards the highway. Not a good moment. So, when I decided to take him out to my aunt’s and uncle’s 40 + plus acres and let him run loose I was a bit nervous. But, I knew if nothing else he’d have a ball running around uninhibited. He did. He chased me on the 4-wheeler all over the land and once things got warmed up he started herding. He’s never herded anything in his life, except maybe for the pug every once in a while. It was amazing seeing thousands of years of breeding at work. And his eyesight was astounding. I know I am gushing about a dog but you would be amazed too if you saw an untrained animal’s instincts kick in right before your eyes.

 Here’s to good reading.

 

Leave a Reply

