Handwritten

Small Town, Big Life

Breakthrough. November 6, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — handwritten @ 1:43 am

I’ve done it. I’ve finally broken through my wall of procrastinative (is that word? well it is now) tendancies – at least for the time being. I woke this morning at 6:37. Let me explain why this is significant. First of all I woke on my own. I was not jolted awake by my “early bird” roommate putting away the dishes or drying her hair. I think it goes without saying that I am not a morning person. Not even close. Word of warning, my brain usually doesn’t function until 10 a.m.

But this morning was quite different. As I said, I woke at 6:37 bright-eyed and bushy-tailed. I laid in bed for a few minutes then got up and proceded to do the normal morning rituals of showering, teeth brushing and clothes changing. After that, I checked the ol’ email then proceded to clean – yet another thing that I usually procrastinate about doing. After a once over in the kitchen I moved on to the living room then back to my bedroom to work on the ever increasing pile of laundry that has slowly matastisized in the far corner of my bedroom. I got a bit of a ways through that then started my writing.

I am in the process of writing a novel. I’ve never done this before. I’ve never even had a creative writing class but I feel that I am being led to produce this work. I can’t explain this but have decided to just go with it.

I got my outline complete, with a bit of idea collaboration with dear ol’ dad – thanks! Now, I have to fight the battle of procrastination within my soul and pump out about 100,000 words within the next 6 months. Between work and life, this should be interesting. As long as I have a deadline I can become quite creative and persistent. I have never missed a deadline and don’t intend on ever missing one because of my lack of dedication.

I’ll keep you posted.

 

Leave a Reply

